This section contains information for advanced users who are familiar with Outlook and MindManager's synchronisation feature. Also refer to the FAQ section on Outlook.

 

Synchronising Project maps

 

When synchronising Project maps (not dashboard maps) with Outlook, be sure to turn off the option for importing new tasks from Outlook. Otherwise your project map will acquire a copy of everything you are working on, from other projects too. Note that the synchronisation settings in MindManager reset themselves at each use so should be checked every time.

 

Finding homes for new tasks

 

If a new task is added to Outlook, it will appear in the Dashboard map the next time you synchronise. After each synchronisation, you should use the ResultsManager tab | Dashboard group | Send Changes to send changed and new activities back to their original project maps.

 

There are two ways for ResultsManager to send newly added tasks back to your project maps:

 

When the Outlook Synchronisation finds a previously unsynchronised task in Outlook, it creates a new Main Topic in the dashboard map. You can move this topic to another parent before using the Send Dashboard Changes command, or you can leave it where it is and allow ResultsManager to prompt you for the maps.

 

Creating "Data Entry Points"

 

A "Data Entry Point" is a Project topic in a dashboard map that can have a new task dragged to it, so that when ResultsManager sends Dashboard changes back, it knows which project map to write them to. You can easily create Data Entry Points for new incoming tasks from Outlook.

 

Use an Area called "Data Entry Point" on selected Project or Result topics, where you may want to add new incoming tasks from Outlook at a later date. The default Outlook Synchronisation dashboards include a filter that will display these Results in the dashboard. When you create the dashboard, ResultsManager will create a set of topics that represent the points to which you frequently add new incoming tasks.

When a new task appears in your Outlook Sync dashboard (because it has been added in Outlook), you can just drag it to one of the Data Entry Points to tell ResultsManager which Project or Result it belongs to. Then, when you run the Send Dashboard Changes command, ResultsManager will post the new activity to the right points within your set of Project maps.

 

Advanced dashboards

 

If you have a large number of maps, you can use ResultsManager fields to precisely define which activities get synchronised with Outlook. One way to do this would be:

 

 

The dashboard map will then only contain items that you have labelled for synchronisation with Outlook. You can continue to use other dashboards for everyday work, and use your customised Outlook Synchronisation dashboard to sync a sub-set of your work with Outlook. If you are using shared maps and need to personalise this, use an area or category such as "John's Outlook" to filter items that only you want to extract. Other users can apply different markers if they wish.

 

How ResultsManager deals with shared maps

 

ResultsManager supports the synchronisation of shared maps with Outlook, using MindManager's built-in features.

 

Synchronising shared maps with Outlook requires special handling, as the information stored in a map when it is synchronised with Outlook is tied to a specific Outlook client. Normally, if one user synchronises their map with Outlook, then sends it to someone else, the links between the synchronised Topics in MindManager and the corresponding tasks in Outlook will be meaningless when moved to a different system.

 

ResultsManager's concept for using shared maps is that some of the maps you use will be stored on shared drives, and other people may access them. All users can synchronise shared maps with their individual Outlook clients, but only through a ResultsManager dashboard, and not directly.

 

ResultsManager automatically stores the Outlook Synchronisation data for each individual user in the shared maps, and when a dashboard is built, their personalised sync data is recovered from the map for use in their dashboard. When they synchronise their own dashboard with Outlook, the activities will match up with the previously synchronised copy. So several users may synchronise the same activity to their Outlook clients.

 

If a shared map is directly synchronised with Outlook, without sending it through a Dashboard, then re- synchronisations will only work on the platform where the original synchronisation was made. Re- synchronisations by other users will cause duplication and proliferation of activities. If you are working with shared maps, you should normally avoid directly synchronising them with Outlook. Always generate the Outlook Synchronisation dashboard and synchronise that, then ResultsManager will take care of your personalised links to your Outlook client.

 

Breaking synchronisation with Outlook

 

ResultsManager includes a support utility to help power users experiment with Outlook synchronisation. Please note that this is not intended for regular use, so is not linked to the menu commands. Please also read our disclaimer relating to this software.

 

Click the Tools tab | Macros group | Macros | Desycnhronise Outlook to access a utility that lets you

 

 

Note that the user name and list of shared locations used by this utility is defined independently of ResultsManager's settings. You should ensure that you use the same settings as ResultsManager.

 

You should use this tool with extreme care as the unintentional deletion of Outlook Synchronisation data can only be recovered by manually deleting all corresponding tasks in Outlook and re-synchronising again. It should normally only be used when directed by Gyronix Support.