Dashboard maps are managed in the Dashboard Options dialogue. You can find this by either
Dashboard Options dialogue
On the left of the dialogue are configuration options that apply to all Dashboards. The right-hand part of this dialogue relates to ResultsManager Professional Edition only and is discussed in Managing Dashboard maps.
Click on the headings below for an explanation of the configuration options.
This is the "default owner" name. You should set this to be your name before using ResultsManager. Your name will then always appear in the most-recently-used list of Owners so that you can select it quickly when editing Activities. It will also be used where the keyword "Me" is used in Dashboard map filters; this lets you quickly filter tasks and projects that you own, ignoring ones that other people are responsible for.
Activities with no Owner are mine
Enabling this option means that if ResultsManager finds an Activity that has no Owner assigned to it, whether explicitly assigned or inherited from another Activity, it will assume that it belongs to the name entered in the "Me" box. This means that if you are an individual user, and everything in your maps always belongs to you, then you do not need to assign any owners, and all Activities will appear in your Dashboard maps. If you are sharing maps with others, then you should probably not use this option, as you may find yourself responsible for anything that does not belong to someone else.
Enabling this option makes ResultsManager follow all Multimap links within maps when it builds a Dashboard. Each map found is included only once, even if there are multiple links to the same map. Dashboards can thus be extracted from sets of maps that are linked together with Multimap links. It is good practice to have a "Map Central" map that is linked to all the maps you want to include in your frequently used Dashboards.
Warn me about missing Multimaps
If the "Include Multimaps" option above is enabled, you can ask ResultsManager to warn you about broken Hyperlinks or missing maps. If this option is disabled, ResultsManager will ignore maps that it cannot find. This option is not available if "Include Multimaps" is disabled.
Include already completed Activities
Enabling this option will cause ResultsManager to include all Activities in the Dashboard, whether they are completed or not. Disabling it will include only Activities that are incomplete. Normally, you would leave this option disabled, as you would not need to continually see all completed activities, unless you need some reassurance that you really are making progress. Enabling this option usually slows down the creation of Dashboard maps.
Include extra empty headings in dashboard
Enabling this option will cause all headings to appear in the Dashboards, whether they contain information or not. Normally this option is turned off, and any headings (e.g. a particular Category) that do not contain any displayable activities are not shown. Enabling this option would display a Topic for the Category but without listing any activities underneath it. This is normally used only for diagnosing and testing Dashboards, and usually slows down the creation of Dashboard maps.
Use Funnel Timeline layout
This setting controls whether ResultsManager calculates the next "doable" actions from your project maps. By default this is enabled, and means that ResultsManager interprets maps as project plans laid out using the Funnel Timeline technique, where a subtopic of an activity is regarded as a predecessor to that task. ResultsManager can then decide automatically whether an activity can be started, i.e. is a "Next Action". Disabling this option turns off this inferred connection between Topics, so that ResultsManager only calculates Next Actions using Topic Relationships. This makes ResultsManager compatible with maps imported from Microsoft Project or using the MPX import feature in MindManager. Note, though, that this setting applies to all maps.
Automatically inherit Activity settings
This option makes ResultsManager transfer key task information from Actions, Results and Projects to lower level Activities, whenever information is missing. For example, assigning a specific Category to a sub-project will mean that all activities in that sub-project are in the same Category, unless a different one is specified for a particular item. This option is normally enabled.
Note that Priorities and dates are only inherited by Committed activities. Owners are not inherited across Project or Result boundaries; you must explicitly assign an owner to a Project or Result.
Also see Assigning Categories and Areas.
Automatic delegation of Activities
This option controls whether ResultsManager works with Shared Activities or Delegated Activities. Enabling it will cause ResultsManager to interpret lists of Owners as a delegation list. Disabling this option will cause ResultsManager to interpret lists of Owners as shared activities with joint responsibility. If you have already used ResultManager v1, you should begin with this option disabled for compatibility with existing maps. If you have not used ResultManager v1, we recommend enabling this option and starting out by managing activities based on delegation. Also see Assigning Owners.
Roll incomplete / undated Activities over to today
Enabling this option causes undated or incomplete & overdue activities to have their start or due dates rolled over to today, so that they appear in the Dashboard. Most users will not want to repeatedly see the same set of undated Activities appear every day, so this is a reminder that they should be given future dates or set to Someday-Maybe to properly manage them.
Exclude Topic Notes from Dashboards
Large Topic Notes fields can be slow to access in MindManager, and if they are not needed in the Dashboard, ResultsManager can optionally ignore Topic Notes when scanning maps. This speeds up Dashboard creation in some cases.
Note: If this option is enabled, then the "Purpose" field in the ResultsManager Edit dialogue is greyed out when editing Activities within Dashboard maps. Any edits made to the Topic Notes will not be posted back to Project maps from a Dashboard map, since the original Notes are not present.
Observe topic filtering in project maps
This setting controls whether ResultsManager will ignore filtering in your maps.
MindManager's "Power Filter" feature allows you to hide unwanted information in your maps to make them clearer. ResultsManager can be set to either observe any filtering you apply, and only include un-filtered (visible or folded) topics in the dashboards, or you can set it to ignore any filtering and always scan all topics.
If this setting is checked, then ResultsManager will work with the project maps in their currently filtered condition, if any. Any topics that have been hidden from the map by filtering out with the Power Filter feature are not included in Dashboards,
If this setting is unchecked, then ResultsManager will ignore any filtering, and all the topics in your map (whether currently filtered out of view or not) will be eligible for inclusion in dashboards. If a map is currently in the "Show Branch Alone" display mode, then ResultsManager will automatically ignore filtering and will scan all topics for the dashboards. ResultsManager assumes that you are not using "Show branch alone" as a way to filter information in the map, but only as a convenience for viewing and editing.
Topic pagination in Dashboard
Large lists in MindManager maps can sometimes make maps awkward to handle; a Topic with 100 subtopics is not easy to edit or navigate. ResultsManager can automatically paginate large numbers of subtopics. If you find that the lists in your Dashboard maps are too large to be useful, then entering 10 in this setting will paginate into blocks of 10 subtopics at a time, making the map easier to use. Set it to zero to disable pagination (the default value).