Sometimes, you decide that an action item that you planned to take is no longer valid, and you don't want it in your plan any more.

 

Select the "Deactivated" option in the Edit dialogue to reset all the information related to planning, except for the description and reason. The Topic is returned to a "non-task" Topic in your map. It is not an Project, Result or Action any more, as shown by the indicator at the top of the edit dialogue:

 

De-activated Topic

 

If you use the ResultsManager Edit dialogue to edit a Topic that is not already an Activity, ResultsManager will automatically set the "Action" option, assuming that you want to convert this Topic into an Activity.