There is a basic law in Physics that says "You can't measure something without changing it", which ResultsManager faithfully observes.

 

Once you have created a Dashboard map, and settled down to deliver your hot list of committed actions, your perspective on what needs to be done and what can be done will almost certainly change. Seeing one list may remind you of something else that needs to be done, or you might realise that you need to do some more preparation before you can start an existing action.

 

ResultsManager Standard Edition and Professional Edition offer different features to help you work with Dashboard maps.

 

ResultsManager Standard Edition

 

ResultsManager Standard edition lets you easily jump back to the original project map from which an Activity came, by launching the Hyperlinks in the Topics in the Dashboard map. As you work through the items in your dashboard, click on the Hyperlink Icon  to update the original copy of the Action, Result or Project. Note that the Dashboard map itself is not updated. The usual technique is to delete Topics from the Dashboard map as they are processed or deferred. When the Dashboard map becomes too far out of date, it can be recreated with the ResultsManager tab | Dashboard group | Create Dashboard.

 

In ResultsManager Standard Edition, the options for editing Dashboards are disabled:

 

Dashboard edit and Shared Map options disabled in ResultsManager Standard

 

 

ResultsManager Professional Edition

 

ResultsManager Professional edition lets you jump back to the original project map from which an Activity came, by clicking on the Hyperlink Icons  on the Topics in the Dashboard map. If this is a shared map, you should right-click and choose "Open and lock Shared map" (MindManager X5 and 6 only), which will check for locks before opening the hyperlinked document.

 

You can set an Activity to "complete" status by selecting it and clicking the ResultsManager tab | Activity group | Set Complete, or by right-clicking on it and selecting Set Activity Complete from the pop-up menu. ResultsManager will also set the original task in the Project map complete if editing from the Dashboard is enabled.

 

You can also set an Activity to "Committed" or "Someday/Maybe" by clicking the Someday/Maybe button in the Activity group in the ResultsManager tab. Clicking the button more than once will cycle between Committed and Someday/Maybe status, and will also update any other copies of the same Activity in the dashboard. It will also make the same change to the original project map, in the same way that the Set Complete button does. This is useful when working with Review dashboards, as you can quickly activate or deactivate projects.

 

ResultsManager v2 Professional Edition also allows you to make changes to your activities from within the Dashboard map, using the same Edit dialogue and commands used to create your project maps. You do not need to go back to your project maps, make a change, and regenerate the Dashboard. You can modify the Dashboard, and the changes will be written back to the right place in the Project map. This behaviour can be enabled or disabled in the ResultsManager Options dialogue.

 

When you use the Edit or Insert commands from within a Dashboard map, ResultsManager checks to see if it has enough information to work out where the original project maps need changing to keep them up to date.

 

If you modify an existing Activity in the Dashboard map, the same changes are written back to the corresponding Topic in the project map.

 

If you add a new Activity to a Dashboard map, ResultsManager looks for the next available Action, Result or Project to attach this new Activity to. If it finds one, it will add it straight into the project map. If it cannot find any suitable information, it will prompt you for a map to add this new Activity to, and will add it as a Main Topic. When new ideas crop up while you are working with a Dashboard, you might just want to drop them into a temporary map and reorganise them later. You can add new Activities to the Project items in a Dashboard map, and they will be added to the Central Topic of the corresponding project map.

 

 

Choosing when to send updates back to the Project maps

 

You can also choose when ResultsManager sends changes back to the original project maps. Click  the ResultsManager tab | Options group | Options | ResultsManager Options and choose the required Dashboard edit mode:

 

Choosing the Dashboard edit and update mode in ResultsManager Professional

 

 

 

Sending Dashboard changes back to Project maps

 

If you are using deferred updates, and have edited some of the Activities in a Dashboard map, you can send them back to the original Project maps on demand. Clicking on the ResultsManager tab | Dashboard group | Send Changes lets you choose whether to look for changes in just the selected tree or trees in the map, or in the whole dashboard map:

 

Sending changes to Project maps

 

When you click OK, ResultsManager starts looking for Activities that have been edited since the Dashboard was created. These edits may have been made using the ResultsManager Edit dialogue, or using MindManager's regular features (e.g. adding or removing the Project Icon from a Topic). However, ResultsManager only looks for changes in the information that is displayed in its Edit dialogue, and does not recognise any other changes. For example, if you apply a fill colour to a Topic, then ResultsManager will not detect this as a material change and this Topic will not be sent back to the original project map.

 

ResultsManager displays a progress bar as it scans for changes and sends them to the original maps. You can abort this by clicking Cancel:

 

Sending Dashboard changes in progress

 

Note that not all the changes detected may have been returned to their project maps. You can repeat the operation again to complete the updating of project maps.

 

When would I use deferred updates?

 

When deferred updates are used, you can make multiple edits to the Dashboard map, then send them all in one operation to the original Project maps. This is advantageous when

 

 

The updating system is not completely foolproof, so please be aware of the following: